SPIDIR Committee

Home » SPIDIR Committee

Revd John Philpott-Howard

John is a retired hospital consultant and senior lecturer at King’s College Hospital and King’s College London. He is an Assistant Priest in East Greenwich Team Ministry and enjoys a variety of music, film & theatre.


Cherry Simpkin

Cherry is a Quaker. She is Treasurer of several Quaker and other charities. She has a particular interest in the healing ministry, the arts and the natural world. She is now retired, having spent most of her career in the Civil Service, mainly dealing with business and financial matters.

Referrals Secretary

Scilla Wallis

Supervision Coordinator

Rev’d Rosemary Shaw

Rosemary was one of the first women priests to be ordained in Southwark Cathedral in 1994. Until about 18 months ago most of my ministry was in hospital chaplaincy which is a wonderful but tough job. I am interested In supervision and training, and I love reading and entertaining.

Newsletter Editor

Revd Antonio García Fuerte

Antonio is the Vicar of All Saints Church, Upper Norwood. He was born in Madrid and moved to London 20 years ago. Antonio previously worked as Chaplain at St Christopher’s Hospice, and as an Assistant Priest at St Barnabas, Dulwich, and Associate Rector of St Matthew’s, in Elephant & Castle. Antonio enjoys reading, Astronomy and is a keen amateur photographer and videographer.

Membership Secretary

Rev’d Sue Charles

Southwark Diocese Representative

Peter Graystone

Peter Graystone is the Lay Training Officer for Southwark Diocese.  After a career in Scripture Union, Christian Aid and Church Army, he is serving the diocese where he has lived his entire life.

Linda Murgatroyd

Linda is a longstanding Quaker with a particular interest in use of the arts for nurturing and developing spiritual life, discernment and witness. She retired early from a career in social statistics, largely in the civil service.

John Woodhouse

John is a Roman Catholic who organises the Westminster cathedral interfaith group and is co-ordinator of Laudato Si' animators UK. John is organist and choirmaster at St John the Evangelist, Caterham Valley. He has been married to Liz for 47 years (they met in the Philharmonia chorus) and they have 3 children and 3 grandsons. He paints in oils, enjoys swimming, opera and the Proms and is a retired librarian.

Spidir Course Tutor

May Nicol

The Committee meets 4 times per year, usually in July, October, January and April.

Find a Spiritual Director

Click the button to request a referral.

Scroll to Top